This Week’s Topic is Hard Hitting

We are taught from a young age not to hit each other. Fighting wouldn’t solve anything, we were told. Of course, there are some people who went against the grain on that one.

Boxing is our topic for this week.

I know what you’re thinking, “I am not interested in boxing. I don’t like fighting.” (Or maybe you DO like fighting. I don’t know. I’m not a mind reader) Believe me when I say that I’m intimidated by the idea, but finding out what you love is also about reaching outside of your comfort zone.

I wanted to try boxing because I’ve never considered it before. I don’t like the idea of punching people, but I will not leave any stone unturned!

Now before we go full “Rocky” in here, let’s see where this sport came from.

A Brief History of Boxing

It is believed that the Greeks invented boxing as a tribute to the gods. Greeks thought that the gods would fist fight as they played with one another in heaven. Around 688 BC, boxing was added to the Olympics. That being said, it was not introduced to our modern day Olympics until 1904.

In the early days of boxing, it didn’t have much structure to it. Two men went into the ring in perfect condition, and they left bleeding and bruised. At the turn of the 1900th century, the vulgarity of the boxers shocked the upper class onlookers (which is kind of dumb when you think about it. They went to watch two men fist fight and were shocked by the language…).

In 1867, to help appeal to the sensitive upper class, the first set of boxing rules were produced. The Queensberry Code of Rules were invented by a man named John Gram. He was a part of the Chamber of Ameture Sports and attempted to institute the rules. At first, boxers refused to pay them any attention. Apparently, fighters thought the rules were “unmanly.”  However, as newer, younger boxers entered the ring, they began adopting the Queensberry Rules more often.

That was only the beginning of the type of boxing you see today. Nowadays, of course, the rules of boxing vary depending on the state and the weight class a person is in.

If you’d like to know more about the history behind boxing or any of the rules, I’ll put some of the resources below.

This Thursday, I’ll be talking to a certified boxing instructor about physical fitness and what it takes to be a good boxer. And then Friday, I’ll put the gloves on and give boxing a go myself.

Sources:

Fight Club America

White Collar Boxing

Fight Land

(Disclaimer: I’m an amature journalist)

This entry was posted in Finding Passion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

